xmas gift pens-suggestions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
hello folks

seeing as this is my first year pen turning and first christmas i would like to make some special pens for my family and give them to them as xmas presents-
I have 3 siblings, my mum & dad,my brother and sister inlaw and mum & dad inlaw (phew this could get expensive!!!)

i was wondering about making a set of his and her pens but which pens?

I have never turned a majestic but was wondering about a normal full size majestic and majestic junior? would they make a good his and her pair?

any other suggestions please

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ldubia

The Gentleman and Jr Gent or Statesman and Jr Statesman are good bets as well. I have made sets of both of these and gotten rave remarks for them.

What ever you make it will most likely be well received and appreciated.

Larry

Jim Smith

I think you'll get some terrific ideas from the group, but my immediate suggestion is that you may find the Majestic to be a very large pen. I made Irish Bog Oak pen on a Majestic kit for our pastor. It was so large that I jokingly told him that it can double as a scepter if he wants and that I used a very special ink that only writes sermons that are 7 minutes or less. Evidently he's not using it to write his sermons.

Bottom line, the Majectic is a very nice kit but go with the Jr. IMHO.

Jim Smith

Lordnyax

I am in the same boat as the OP (first year turning - wanna make gifts for family). I'll be very interested to see the ideas that people contribute.

workinforwood

Exotic Blanks...they have pine cone blanks at good prices and some of them might even be cast with christmas like colors. You can't ever go wrong with cast pinecones..they spin easy and make excellent conversation pieces....not to mention, what's Christmas without pine cones?

Thank you for all o fyour suggestions