Would you use this antler?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

lago

I was able to get some antlers when I was in Kansas a few weeks ago on a dog hunting trip. I tried turning 2 parts of it already but I do not like the way it looks.

The first one was a thick section close to the skull. It turned out an off-white with a dark blue-black color. I turned another that was further away from the skull. It wasn't quite thick enough so I wasn't able to get it completely the way I wanted it.

It has a bit of brown color on one side. Unfortunately, I don't have it anymore. I shipped it back to the guy that gave it to me along with some pens that I traded for staying in his hunting lodge.

Anyhow, would you consider this to be satisfactory? I am new to turning and don't want to put out some bad stuff.

Lago

xIMG_0002.JPG

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rkimery

Passed Away May 3, 2022
In Memoriam
I've taken quite a bit of these "2nds" and turned them into something fairly good. For whatever reason I use CA glue with most all of mine. About 5 coats of Med., then to 12M with MM and then comes the polish ....it looks great...MOST of the time. The more staining, brown or blue-black (whatever) you have the more character you have. One of a kind. I've used worse that this piece you have, in the past for myself.

SteveG

Some seem to want a nice uniform look, both color and visual texture. I do not view it that way, and proudly display antler pens with lots of variation. With multiple antler pen choices on the table, the ones with the color and texture get more attention and more sales. I will always attempt a fairly good match on upper/lower barrel on that style of pen, but otherwise, it is (almost) all good.

JAZNCARR