Working with Acrylic Blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gwlundgren

I am new to this and just started doing some acrylics.

What is best type of drill bit for drilling the barrel? I tried a standard bit. That seems to crack out the blank making it useless. Trying brad point bits now. Drilling acrylics seems a slow process and it's harder than wood and heats up the bit, and the material. Seems I must go slow to avoid over heating material and risking cracks or break outs. Any tips on that? or just have patience?

Does any particular turning chisel work best for making the blank smooth before starting sanding and buffing process? Skew chisel?

Any resources I should read? Seems there's a ton of stuff out there, but don't know what will be best.

Thanks! Gary

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

keithbyrd

Acrylic at times is fun and at other it can be very frustrating! There are lots of "kinds" of acrylics - some hard brittle like rhinoplastic and some soft like mutt amalgums from Bear Tooth Woods. Simple tips - make sure your bits are sharp. I find brad point tends to chip the end more than the other bits. Go slow - clean the bit out frequently. I keep my vacuum handy and every 1/4-1/2 inch I back out and clean off. Mark your bits to the length of the blank you are drilling - that way when you get close to the end you can ease up. I still use a drill press most of the time just because its quicker but if I am really looking for dead center accuracy I use the lathe.
I use a heavy bowl scraper most of the time (sharp) to do my rounding and then use carbide pen tool for turning. Almost never have to use anything rougher than 400 grit to start sanding.

Turn a lot and have fun!

longbeard

Patience