Work Shop WS2000 sharpener?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

flyfisher117

http://www.dynamitetoolco.com/Work-...rk=gdfV2469_a_7c555_a_7c1883_a_7cWOS_d_WS2000

Still unable to afford a bench top grinder and wolverine system to sharpen my lathe tools and today my dad was at sears i guess and got that sharpener.

He came home and told me to ask you guys if you think that little grinder deal will work for a while untill we can get the big 8 inch grinder like we plan or just return it and save up longer?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I looked at that unit and bought the tormak I spent alittle over $400 and got the lathe tool atchment and the stone. I aplied for the Sears card and they gave me 6 months, same as cash. finished it off the first of this month.
I'm still learning to use it, but you can mark your tools and when you need to sharped,its real easy to reset the tool in the jig. You can resharpen in less than a minite

phillywood

John, first of all you said your dad bought this tool? From the price posted it is $99.00 and this sharpening tool will not sharpen your gouges for turning, I brought up this thread few weeks back and I got enough answer to convince me to buy the wolverine sharpening system. You can look at your craigslist in your area and find a grinder for $35 or maybe haggle with the guy and you can get it for cheaper. Then you buy the basic wolverine system and keep watching the instructional video over and over again and you'll get the technique right to keep your tools sharp. The other thing is ask at your local chapter penturning or wood turning club in your area to see if a member is willing to show you how to do it and you learn it first hand by watching them up close. I did that myself and I now know the difference of a really sharp tool.
The approach you are taking will cost you more in the long run.

NewLondon88

Local Chapter Leader
It will work, but it won't do a hollow grind. If you need that, you might