Woodchuck Uni-Tool or Pen Pro

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dansills

I was getting ready to order the pen pro but noticed that the Uni tool is on sale; which to me makes it look like a much better deal. Can anyone help me decide by letting me know if the Uni tool is too big for pen making? Any thoughts or opinions?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Knucklefish

I have both and can use either for pen making. Guess the short answer is you can use the unitool on pens but I personally do not recommend using the pen pro on bowls. Hope this helps.

PTsideshow

I am still learning the pen pro just turning cylinders of assorted materials down. Haven't attempted anything larger, but it looks that the pen pro will have a limited size in turning hollow interior spaces. Depending on the dia of the hollow. I love my pen pro!!!!:biggrin:
:clown:

tim self

Go with the bigger tool if you ever intend to turn more than pens. I got mine before the pen pro and wouldnt do it different.

A fireman can fight a fire or wash a car with a 2" hose but try putting out a fire with a garden hose.

leehljp

Member Liaison
I too have both. I learned pen turning with bowl tools and as a result like the longer shafts. However, in two weeks I have adapted to the shorter Pen Pro just fine and like it. I also ordered the Uni-tool and like the longer feel.

In reality, it is what you are used to and feel comfortable with - more so than the fact of one being longer or shorter than the other.

A warning of sorts is that the different inserts that come with the Uni-tool each have their own "feel". To me, the 4" radius has a different feel from the straight, and the 2"R and round have a different feel also. In some ways, the straight and 4R are similar but the edge of the straight will grab more than the 4R if rough turning down a blank to size. The 2R and round also have a different feel and require a good knowledge of them before jumping into an expensive blank.