Wood to Turn

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Tonto

I'm new at this and have focused on turning wood pens so far and wanted to share an idea to those in the commercial side of this craft. I turned a few pens in Buckthorn and Honeysuckle as gifts to folks I work with who spend considerable time killing these weed species. I was curious if there are folks out there turning the wide variety of other noxious weed species like autumn olive, salt cedar, etc. The other side of this is a somewhat specialized market of turned items from these species as gifts for the folks who work with them and would appreciate the irony of something useful made from their wood, often quite beautiful as I have found with the above two species. Then I think about using treated lumber for carpenter friends, you get the idea. I like the discussions that talk about diections to try and the casting/stabilization threads got my wheels turning. This is a great forum.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Russianwolf

there was an article in woodturning design about a guy that turns items of Poison Ivy (the wood being safe once completely dry). I've been exploring my area looking for possible <s>victims</s> er.... candidate woods. I would like to be sure what it is for future reference so some I'll have to wait for spring to cut. Redbud is very common in my area. Have at it. You never know what people will find beautiful.

On the pressure treated stuff, be very careful. The chemicals they use to treat it are very dangerous and the dust is a know problem.

Tonto