Which Wood Lathe would you buy?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

RichardZeh

I am new to penturning as a matter of fact new to wood turning. I would like to get started and want to purchase a lathe any recommendations would be helpful. If I should stay away from any particular lathe I would appreciate that info. Price is not my biggest concern, I would rather buy right the first time and not have to buy a new one in a year or two. Please help. I hope this is the right forum to post to for this question, this is also my first time in a forum.

Richard

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

cowchaser

Well, I will tell you what I have and many members here also. I have a Jet mini 1014 varialbe speed. You will probably receive many opinions on this, but for me it came down to price just over 300 with free shipping from Amazon. I know alot of people are happy with the brands as well. I prefered to buy the variable speed right off the bat since after much research on here I read where others where adding a variable speed kit to their non vs.

johnnycnc

Richard,welcome to the group!
For a lathe,my next one will be a Jet mini,
variable speed.
I have a Jet mini non-variable speed now,
and can't say enough good about the quality.

Brewmeister35

You're only getting one? [}:)] I have a craftsman, rikon, and a carbatec. I use them all for different things but the rikon gets the most use. You need to decide whether or not a mini will be big enough to turn what you want to turn. If you aren't sure and just starting this habit... I mean hobby, a mini jet, or the rikon are great choices. I'd bet the mini jet is about the most popular and do get a variable speed if possible. You'll be glad you did later.

gketell

Local Chapter Leader