Wood is cracking during assembly of Slimline!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bubbatww

I'm new to this pen making thing(started in Jan) and have enjoyed making a few for friends and family. My problem isnt all the time but when I put on the pen tips the wood cracks, its happened a few times when I put the end caps on too.
What am I doing wrong???? :confused:
I am cleaning the tubes of any glue and have been using playdough to keep the glue from getting inside the tubes on one end. I bought a pen press thinking maybe that would help. NOPE:mad:.... Getting a pen to the final stages and having this happen is a bit frustrating.
Any help you guys can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RAdams

Banned
Who made the kits you are using?

If they came from Dayacom, then i would say it is probably something you are doing. If the kits are from Rhizeng, then it is probably the kit.

The rhizeng kits are a bit tight. I use a chainsaw file on the inside of the tube before pressing. This helps some but you will still crack a barrel from time to time.

If you are already using dayacom kits, then it is likely the nib is a bit crooked or something.

Monty

Group Buy Coordinator
Make sure you press the ends in straight. Any slight sideways movement may cause a crack. Also, it helps if you chamfer the ends of the tubes before you press the ends in.

jttheclockman

I'm new to this pen making thing(started in Jan) and have enjoyed making a few for friends and family. My problem isnt all the time but when I put on the pen tips the wood cracks, its happened a few times when I put the end caps on too.
What am I doing wrong???? :confused:
I am cleaning the tubes of any glue and have been using playdough to keep the glue from getting inside the tubes on one end. I bought a pen press thinking maybe that would help. NOPE:mad:.... Getting a pen to the final stages and having this happen is a bit frustrating.