Why so many coats of CA

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Hookset

I am new to all of this, and have been here reading for several days, and it seems to me everyone that use CA, puts on x number of thin and y number of medium. Is that many coats necessary?
My kit came with high friction polish so I would sand, clean, and polish the blanks; then I would apply a couple of thin coats of CA to seal the polish.
Please educate me.
Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

budnder

I think there's a couple of factors here. When I put CA on I do so with a dry paper towel, so undoubtedly, much of the "coat" ends up on the paper towel. Also, after I put a few coats on, I sand it smooth, so I'm taking away much of what I put on. So I have to do that a couple of times to end up with a smooth solid coat that has enough thickness for me to polish without breaking through.

Normally, I do three coats of thin and then three coats of medium. Then sand t smooth with 400 and then 600 grit. Then I repeat both of those steps again before polishing. So that's a total of 12 coats, if you add them all up. It only takes a minute or two to do the CA coats - it's the sanding that takes a bit more time.

I've experimented with using a plastic applicator (aka pen kit bag) to put the CA on, but find that it goes on too ripply that way, which requires more sanding to smooth out. I've tried fewer coats, but then had it be too thin and I ended up with dull spots when I polished where the underlying surface would be breached.

MRDucks2

I have no technical reason for 8 coats. I do 4 coats of thin followed by 4 coats of medium simply because that's how many I can do on one folded up piece of paper towel for each type. Early on I did several with 1 or 2 coats of medium only, sometimes by itself, sometimes with some Pens Plus over the top. I seem to be getting pretty consistent results with what I do now.

Sent from my iPhone using Penturners.org mobile app

WriteON