Why so Cheap

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Tony's Pens

I am new to Pen Turning and have a question?

Why would someone pay $2 for a pen kit and take the time and effort to turn a pen and then put it on eBay for $5 and $3 shipping. Does this not diminish the value of custom made pens. I understand giving pens away to friend and family but selling at a price of $5 is like giving a pen away to everyone that will pay $5. I guess this goes along with my motto below.

Just wondering :confused:

Last edited:

corian king

Hello Tony.Some people just don't have any smarts.I have seen those really low prices on ebay and those are the kind of people that makes it hard for anyone to make any money on their pens.There are alot of people on ebay and a few here that can't stand to see someone else make a dollar so they will just give away their products so they can say they made a sell. Anyway welcome aboard and enjoy all the knowledge that can be learned from this site it is a fantastic place with alot of great and friendly people!!
JIM

Mac

I am going with the short answer as my eyelids are getting heavy.
The ? was why so cheap?
THEY ARE TO DUMB TO KNOW THE DIFFERENCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
THEY DON'T HAVE A CLUE WHAT THE REAL COST IS OR HOW TO MAKE A PROFIT...
THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT THE CRAFT ,THAT IS PENTURNING.
any or all above will fit. I ran across a guy like this about a year ago.

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
There are people who cant tell the difference between profit and cash flow. He may be trying to make a single dollar from each sale on a million sales. He may not need the income from pen sales, therefore each sale just returns his cash investment and gives him something to do and he might make a little bit for his labor.

its_virgil