Why are pen blanks 3/4" wide?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

ElMostro

Ok, please have in mind I am new to pen turning. [8)]
But I have a burning question; Why are most pen blanks cut to 3/4" wide? Today I turned a European twist pen from a 3/4" wide blank (first time) and it took me at least twice as long to turn the pen from the 3/4" than when I use a 9/16". Other than more time turning, a bigger pile of shavings and additional wear and tear on tools why use a 3/4" blank? Also have in mind that so far I have only turned Europeans and Slimlines which I can turn comfortably from a 9/16" (or less) blank. Is it not a waste of wood especially when using burls and exotics... Reminder; I AM NEW TO PEN TURNING...[?]

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dario

Because 3/4 accomodates most kits. Most sellers don't know what you (the buyer) will use. Others use 7/8" because it is best for the bigger kits.

If you will mill your own (or cast) then do get the best size for your intended use. I still mill mine bigger than 3/4" as much as possible. More waste but flexibility is more important to me.

smoky10

A blank thats 3/4" is big enough for most of the pens we make. It is easier to order a blank that will do several pens than to order blanks of a certain size that will do only one or two pens. Probably cheaper in the long run.

Ozzy

I agree with Dario, it's because the supplier doesn't know how much you need. When I cut blanks for other people, I cut them 3/4 but no where close to that for my own personal use.

Chuck Key

If you see a feature on the blank that you would like emphasized in the finiahed pen you have room to drill a bit off center to take advantage of the feature.

Chuckie

JimGo