Why does Ebony keep kicking my backside?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jlame1984

I am fairly new to penturning and so far all of my attempts to use ebony have failed. I have had cracking in the CA finish and wood splitting when pressing the pens together. I have had the blanks explode (fly apart) on the lathe, good reason for safety glasses. I always keep my tools sharp, but so far I haven't had any luck. I am currently using Gaboon I got at Woodcraft, buy one get two free. Any tips or tricks? What am I missing?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

omb76

Don't let it heat up. That's probably the most important rule with ebony. It's prone to cracking anyway. I've had an ebony Sierra click pen for about a year now and I still check it ever so often to see if it's cracked.

mrcook4570

Exotic woods are generally sold in various stages of air drying, so they still have some moisture content above ambient conditions. Some will dry faster than others. Some are more stable than others. Ebony will take much longer to dry than most of the other woods and it is much more temperamental than others.

So, you can either play by its rules - anticipate it cracking, partially turn it, allow it to crack, then finish turn it.

Or, you can switch to African blackwood.

nativewooder

Any piece of gaboon ebony that you purchase will be green and wet to some degree. Slowly and carefully drill the required hole size, and then, put it on a shelf to dry for at least five years. After five years you will have forgotten about all the bad experiences.:biggrin: Grade A ebony will shine very well due to the oils in the wood. Sealing it with CA glue can result in heat build up causing the wood to crack, maybe two or three years in the future. Ebony is very brittle and prone to splintering. DAMHIKT!:rolleyes:

IPD_Mrs