WhichTools Do I Need For Penturning?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

WoodnPecker

Hello to everyone!
If you haven't seen my other post yet, I am new to IAP and to penturning. I was wondering if I could get some advice and personal recommendations as to which are the BEST tools I can get for penturning. As a former carpenter, present woodworker and hopefully future penturner, I am a firm believer in buying the "VERY BEST" tools you can afford. I found out early on that the cheap tools cost MUCH more in the long run than do the expensive or better quality tools.

Being totally new to penturning I have no idea which tools are the best for the job. I bought a set of Hamlet M2 tools for my regular turning when I first bought my lathe and they are OK but for my penturning I would really like to get the best tools I can afford. I was wondering if you would give me your advice as to which tools I need for penturning (EXAMPLE: 3/8" spindle gouge or 1/2" round nose skew chisel, etc.) and which set or individual names of tools (example: RICHARD RAFFAN 1/2 INCH M2 SKEW CHISEL or HENRY TAYLOR 3/8 INCH SPINDLE GOUGE).

Thanks in advance for all of your advice and help!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tipusnr

Hopefully you'll get a better answer from others here but I don't use really fancy tools for my penturning. I have a couple of Harbor Freight sets (1 carbon and 1 high speed steel) and a HSS mini-set I got on sale somewhere.

I find that the key is not necessarily the quality of the tool but the sharpness of the tool. Any tool you can keep sharp and that you feel confident in using will make excellent pens.

Good luck!

jrc

After almost 3 years of pen making I only use a 1/2" spindle gouge and I does pay to buy the best. Just over $60.00 I can turn many many pens without resharpening. Woodturners catalog has some of the BEST

Paul in OKC

Originally posted by jrc