Where to get and what type of wood?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jroach21

Since Im just starting out, I was wondering if anyone had ideas of where to get cheap wood to practice on? can I go to HomeDeopt and get some pine 2X4's and just cut it to the right size? Maybe a cabinet making shop and use their scraps? I would like to practice on something before I screw up a nice piece of wood. Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gimpy

if you use "cheap" wood, that will be the result of your turning, cheap

You will get so frustrated that it could turn ( no pun intended) you
against turning all together

my thoughts

mrmartyking

Look for a local hardwood store that sells to wood workers. You can buy one board foot of many nice woods like purple heart, zebra wood and padauk. One board foot will give you a bunch of pen blanks. Good luck!

thewishman

I got some really nice hardwoods from a wood floor wholesaler (retail dealers may be good, too.) The pallets that their floors are shipped on can be great - I've gotten purpleheart, Brazilian cherry and several other nice woods from them.

Be sure to make a pen for them of their wood. They will start saving all kinds of stuff that they would have pitched otherwise.:)

Dan Masshardt

I got some really nice hardwoods from a wood floor wholesaler (retail dealers may be good, too.) The pallets that their floors are shipped on can be great - I've gotten purpleheart, Brazilian cherry and several other nice woods from them.

Be sure to make a pen for them of their wood. They will start saving all kinds of stuff that they would have pitched otherwise.:)

Purple Heart pallet? Cool.

Russianwolf

Inexpensive wood sources?

Got a firewood pile?
Larger trimmings from trees and shrubs around the yard? Cut them down and let them dry (can be sped up with a microwave)

There are lots of places for free wood and you may be surprised by what's hidden on the inside of them.

Purple Heart pallet? Cool.