where to get nibs for Statesman?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mikey

Just put together a Statesman fountain pen and noticed that the nib puts down a VERY bold line. I am using only the weight of the pen to glide the pen on the paper.

Does anyone have experience and or a part number for buying a replacement nib for the larger Statesman, Gents, Emperor, Lotus, and Imperial?

I called CSUSA and they suggested nibs.com and fountainpenhospital.com. Since I am new to fountain pens, I have no clue what I am doing.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jthompson1995

You might also look at what kind of paper you were writing on as some papers are more absorbent than others and will cause the lines to be thicker. Most common printer papers will pull out way more ink than a nice smooth vellum or cotton paper like you would write a resume or formal letter on.

ashaw

Mikey
All of the Fountain Pens we buy from the various supplies are only a medium nib. Janson is correct about making sure you are using good paper for fountain pens. That being said you can have Nibs.com or Richard Binder regrind your nibs to fine. Check out both sites on their services.

Alan

bjackman

Originally posted by ashaw
That being said you can have Nibs.com or Richard Binder regrind your nibs to fine. Check out both sites on their services.
Alan
And the flow can be adjusted as well. Personally I prefer a wetter flowing nib. One of my personal, daily users is currently a Sheaffer Imperial with a medium steel nib that I would put somewhere at a 7.5/8 in flow on a scale of 1-10. A "nice wet nib" can be a nice selling point for many FP users.

Mikey

A "Nice wet nib" sounds good, but change a letter.[}:)]