What types of pens do most people like?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

snmhanson

I have been turning for a few months and now that I have my personal stock built up, I would like to start making pens for others. The few people I have talked with so far have surprisingly expressed the most interest for smaller and more basic pens such as Slimlines and maybe Sierras. I always figured that the bigger pens like Jr. Gents/Statesmen would be more favored. I haven't gotten opinions from very many people yet so maybe the people that I have talked to so far aren't a good representation. What does everyone else find that people tend to prefer? I know I enjoy turning a more complicated pen much more than a simple pen, but I also want to give people pens they are going to use. On the other hand, the bigger flashier pens tend to attract more attention and would more likely be a conversation starter. (i.e. "That's a cool pen, where did you get it?")

Thanks,

Matt

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Welcome to IAP, Matt!!!

Your question is very broad. And your profile is no help.

What part of the country? Are your users men or women? Young or old? Chairmen of the board or shipping dock? Doctors or nurses? All of these give some indication of what kind of pen they will like and what will be "functional" in their world.

(Desk jockeys can use rollerballs, those who are moving around usually prefer no cap on their writing utensils).

The pen I sold the greatest number of was the cigar. But it was ALSO my favorite pen for a "carry pen".

That is a start---again WELCOME!!!

Alzey