What Turning Tools/Techniques Do You Use?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bartstar

I'm new to pen turning and have developed a method that works for me, but I'm always interested in how others approach their work. My turning routine is to use a roughing gouge to bring my blanks to within a very close distance to the bushings. Then I use a mini-spindle gouge (with a fingernail grind) to bring the blank to the bushings and make any final changes to the shape. Then I use a skew chisel to remove any remaining marks left by the spindle gouge. This routine seems to quickly bring my work to a ready to sand state. The final skew pass reduces the amount of sanding I need to do.

One final note - I do sharpen my gouges often, especially the rouging gouge that does the lions share of the work. I usually need to resharpen after each pen, and depending upon the type of wood, several times during a single pen. I purchased the wolverine jig awhile back, and I find it works great for making the trips to the grinder very fast.

So, how do you turn your pens?

Thanks for any replies.

Bart

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rifleman1776

This is going to be one of those 'each to his own' subjects. My choice often depends on the wood. For most, I'll knock off corners and get to round with a 1/2" spindle gouge, then the majority of the rest of the turning is with a 1" skew, final shaping is often with a 3/8" skew. But sometimes the wood will not like the skew and most turning with be done with the 1/2" gouge.

ilikewood

Wow Bart...good way to start an arguement[:D]

Most people here just turn with what they are comfortable with. I personally use a round nose scraper for most of my work and then detail with a skew or a couple other "special" ground tools I made myself.

Old Griz

Passed Away Oct 4, 2013
In Memoriam