What tools do you use?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

avbill

I realize what this question is a loaded canon, with very person using their favorite tool in shaping their pen. I started with a roughing gouge and a detail gouge. I have no problem with the roughing gouge getting the blank round and flat. I feel that the detailed gouge (Sorby detailed gouge) has not given me cutting edge everyone talks about. It's several reasons:

1) its my lack of understanding and experience with the tool.
2) I also feel its its because the detailed gouge has a sharper cutting angle verses a normal gouge.

I bought a skew and I'm learning its advantages and disadvantages. I'm still learning the skew and plan to practice and practice.

So my question Is the detailed gouge too sharp of an cutting angle FOR THE pen blanks compared to a regular gouge have a relaxed angle at the tip of the tool?

Thanks for your answers in advance!

Bill Daniels

PS I review Keith Rowley's 5 laws of woodturning every week My grade is improving but its far from being prefect -- well its on the other side of the bell curve to be honest.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

CSue

Local Chapter Leader
Yyou know, Bill, I'm hoping you've learned more and become more comfortable with YOUR tools of choice. I started off with a roughing gouge and skew. As much as I tried, I just couldn't get the knack of the Skew. And, finding the big gouges too clumsy for fine detail in my hands, I got Sorby Gouge your speaking of.
For many months I found myself using only the Sorby gouge. As I became more comfortable with it's use, I was able to go back to skew(s) of many forms and obtain a reasonable mastery. No high grades, but I became comfortable enough to use them on woods the Sorby Gouge would be to hard on. I prefer the sharp cutting edge in all cases whether it be with the detailed gouge or some type of skew.

That's my personal opinion, Bill, and a few months late.