What skew to use?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

eskimo

I've been using a 1/2" Oval skew for a couple of months and am still getting a lot of "catches", even with sharpening before each blank (and many times, again while on the same blank). Some of it is due to the type of wood, but I wonder if some of it may be that the skew is fairly light and I might have better success with a heavier 1" Skew (Christmas is coming and the LOL said a Bandsaw is out of the question).

I've read the articles and viewed the videos on this site and feel my method is pretty solid, as I will have 6 or 7 clean passes, then get a catch & take a chunk out of the blank.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Bob

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

CrazyBear

I used to use a scraper or gouge to take my blanks down. Now I use a 1" skew. The finish is far better and I feel more in control of the tool rather than the tool controling me.

I am probably doing it wrong but I usualy have the Skew blade vertical at about a 45 degree angle to the blank. This takes a nice even cut.

Having said that it was a Bi%*h to get used to and I have to make doubly sure there are no nicks in my tool rest to catch the skew.

I would personally recomend going for the bigger skew but other more experienced turners may differ

rherrell

You might have better results with a larger skew ,however, I use a 1/2" straight skew with no problems. All I can say is practice,practice,practice. And then do it some more!

Rmartin

I use a round nosed scrapper in conjunction with a straight skew, and about ten other turning tools. Many of my tools started out as one thing, and I used a grinder to shape them into something else.

GBusardo