What is needed for larger pen turning.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

donhart1966

Hi all, I've been turning pens and pencils off and on for a few years now, and all I have ever done is slimline with 7mm bushings. My question is, other than bushings, what else is needed to do the larger styles of pens and pencils? Can I use the same mandrel or should I purchase a separate one? Thanks everyone.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

chartle

Same mandrel most of the time. There is one website that has kits that use a thicker B mandrel.

Oh and you will need more drill bits.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Bigger kits are more expensive, so it's a bigger problem when they "blow up". So, I recommend an adjustable length mandrel and turning one barrel (or cap) at a time. This is NOT a necessity, but it will save you money in the long run.

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Hi Don

Welcome to IAP from Medina. Not sure where you are in S Ohio, but there are regular Ohio meetings towards the Akron/Cleveland are.

Usually at Hartville lumber.

You get the announcements here:

http://www.penturners.org/forum/f84/

And in a few weeks we are having a cookout in Elyria.

Anyone is welcome - and keep asking questions.

farmer

I guess mandrels is one way and most likely the most inexpensive way to start to make a bigger pen if you are using a wood lathe.

General question, does everyone assume that everyone in here is using a wood lathe ?

If you are using a engine lathe with a live cutter a one dead and one live center , nothing is needed except Maybe Some kind of sanding mandrels depending on the design of the pen.

monophoto

Hi all, I've been turning pens and pencils off and on for a few years now, and all I have ever done is slimline with 7mm bushings. My question is, other than bushings, what else is needed to do the larger styles of pens and pencils? Can I use the same mandrel or should I purchase a separate one? Thanks everyone.

You will need: