What model pen to start with?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rolland

I am just getting started in pen turning, well actually I have not started just getting some supplies and equipment together. My question is what is the best pen model to get started with.
I have a machine shop so I have some knowledge but pen turning is a new direction.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Most people start with the slimline. Why? Cause that's what everyone has done.

I would recommend the cigar (chrome kits are not too expensive) which has an upper and lower section and is a nice pen--Parker refill, I've sold hundreds of them (retail at craft shows--finished pens)

Second choice would be the single piece sierra family. Easy to turn

greggas

As Ed wrote I'd start with the Cigar. Much better tranny quality ( usually) than the slim and larger diameter I feel is easier when first getting going

alphageek

Former Moderator
The slimline is a love/hate relationship. Its generally the cheapest hardware... However it is also a pen where you tend to turn off a lot of material. Thats good if you need practice, but in general it can also be pretty unforgiving with some materials (especially the more transparent ones because of the thin material at the ends of the tubes).

If you are willing to spend a little more on hardware the sierra and cigar are both pretty good choices. The only warning I would give to the cigar is that there is 4 different diameter bushings and the tubes are the same diameter but different lengths. This can be a point to trip you up a little.

Drstrangefart

I'm still pretty new and chewing my way relentlessly through Slimlines. Great way to learn on found wood, and other materials at minimum cost if you find Slims on sale. I'm ready for Cigars and Sierras now.

snyiper

I like slims they are very easily customized. Of course you get decent with them everything else seems easier.....

DKF