What kind of glue do I use?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jay_bobo

Hi, I'm new to penturning and I was wondering what kind of glue I should use when I am glue the tube into the blanks? I've heard of ca glue is there any other kinds? Can I just use carpenters glue? Any help is helpful!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

longbeard

I use gorilla glue 5 min epoxy, ca glue for the finish. epoxy will hold up better over time and temp changes, plus makes putting tubes in the blanks easier, no worriers of the ca setting up before you get the tube in the blank. Be sure to plug the ends of the tubes before putting them in the blank, keeps the glue out. Play-do works great.

Last edited:

dtswebb

Jason,

I'll agree with Harry on the 5 minute epoxy; I just don't like the Gorilla Glue because it comes in the syringes (at least when I see it locally). Most local hobby shops will sell a 5 minute epoxy that comes in two squeeze bottles (typically 2 oz to 4 oz). That's what I use.

Matthew

Tim'sTurnings

Hi, I'm new to penturning and I was wondering what kind of glue I should use when I am glue the tube into the blanks? I've heard of ca glue is there any other kinds? Can I just use carpenters glue? Any help is helpful!

Many people use CA and many people use epoxy. Epoxy seems to be the better choice for longevity and helps to fill gaps in between the tubes and the blanks. Plus it gives you more time for adjustment, there is 15 minute and 5 minute epoxy.
Gorilla glue works in filling bigger gaps but in my opinion it leaves a big mess. It swells up considerably and gets all over the place. JMHO.
Tim.

Jay_bobo

Thanks everyone I'll probably go get epoxy from a hobby store or hardware store, thanks for all the help!

paintspill