What gouge

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

beep119

Hi everyone, I'm still pretty new to the pen turning so please be gentle;)
I bought a cheap three pice set for starting out. Has a gouge for rough cutting, (not sure what that means for what kind of gouge, it's what it says on box), a parting tool and a skew chisel. My wife said I can upgrade one tool...lol.
I find the gouge is to small and not great at keeping sharp. And hard to sharpen.
So I think the gouge is the tool to upgrade since I use it 80% of the time, so I am asking what kind of gouge it is you guys/girls use? Roughing gouge? Bowl gouge? What size? 1",3/4"?
Also, I want to try my hand at bowls in the future, not sure if that makes a difference for what kind of gouge?

Thanks for input!

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimB

You can do a pen start to finish with the tools you have. A roughing gouge is one of the easiest to use and sharpen, IMO. If you are having difficulty with it then you may want to give us more information about the tools and how you are using and sharpening them so we can help you.

Also, you may want to add your location to your profile. There could be someone near you that can help.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Hi everyone, I'm still pretty new to the pen turning so please be gentle;)
I bought a cheap three pice set for starting out. Has a gouge for rough cutting, (not sure what that means for what kind of gouge, it's what it says on box), a parting tool and a skew chisel. My wife said I can upgrade one tool...lol.
I find the gouge is to small and not great at keeping sharp. And hard to sharpen.
So I think the gouge is the tool to upgrade since I use it 80% of the time, so I am asking what kind of gouge it is you guys/girls use? Roughing gouge? Bowl gouge? What size? 1",3/4"?
Also, I want to try my hand at bowls in the future, not sure if that makes a difference for what kind of gouge?

Thanks for input!