What Glue?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Spinzwood

What glue do you use to cement the tubes to the drilled blanks?

I've seen CA and have seen turners say it doesn't hold up long term.. possibly to shock, changes in the wood over time, etc. I've used it but have no idea how long it holds up.

I've used 2 part epoxy.. but, if I'm doing multiple pens, the 5 minute (ha) won't stay useable for more than one pen at a time. I guess I could go to a 15 minute type.

Gorilla Glue? I haven't tried it yet.. but it is strong, foaming to fill voids, etc.

I plan on filling the tube with a plug of potato or play dough to keep the cement from getting in and having to deal with any overflow, etc.

Thoughts? In case you haven't guessed, I'm a newbie

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
There are those who use any one you mentioned and love it and recommend it.

1. Gorilla Glue or polyurethane: It expands and to the uninitiated - it will move the tube out of the blank and harden - UNLESS you tape the ends to prevent it. Make your blanks about 1/8 inch longer and add something that prevents it from pushing the blank out.

2. Like you, I have 15 and 30 minute epoxy that I use when doing several. I use 5 minute when doing just one.

3. Some people have good results with thick CA. I have used it but prefer epoxy and sometimes polyurethane/Gorilla.

The brittleness of CA is the problem. Some people scrub/swipe their tubes with sandpaper to make it hold better. Rubber CA is more expensive but I found some and used it a few times and did not have any problems with it. The rubber CA is not brittle like regular CA is. (I have also used rubber epoxy on brittle wood that has a tendency to crack.

I also use plumbers putty (and others use wax or other putty as you mentioned) to prevent glue from getting into the tubes. ALWAYS clean the inside of the tubes before assembling.

Last edited:

Spinzwood