What do you use to cool drill bit?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bostonlives

I'm new to pen turning and wanted to know if there is anything that is used to cool down the drill bit when making multiple wood and acrylic pen blanks?
Please specify for wood and for acrylic if product or process is different for each type.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MTViper

I use speed to cool it down. I drill my pen blanks on the lathe and slow it down to 300-400 rpm. The bigger the drill bit, the slower I drill. I back the bit out every half inch or so and clean the swarf off the bit. I don't spray anything on the bit to cool it and never have a problem.

eharri446

I do not use anything to cool the bit down when drilling wood. However, I do use a spray bottle of water with a couple of drops of dish soap in it when drilling acrylics or something like Tru-stone. With wood, I try to take my time and drill slowly so I can keep the bit cool. I also try to let the bit cool down between blanks.

WriteON

I replace the hot bit with a cool bit and keep rotating them as I go along. Careful when removing the chucked bit. It's hot (but we already know that)
You cannot have too many drill bits.

Curly

I never put any lubricant that could possibly remain behind to interfere with the glue adhesion or finish even if washed after. That rules out for me all the teflons, silicones etc. On wood the best if you have it, is compressed air to cool the bit and clear the hole. Ear and eye protection is a must though.

DJBPenmaker

I don't lubricate wood however I lubricate acrylic with water and a drop of washing up liquid in a spray bottle and directly into the hole, but still withdrawing constantly to clear swarf.

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk

TonyL

Tony, what's the difference between this and other dry lubes on the market? I'm using Remington Rem-Dri or Blaster Dry Lube with Teflon on gun parts and some machine threads right now.