What do you think I should get for sharpening?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JamesB

Hi,
I really need to sharpen my tools and was pretty set on the Grizzly Tormek knock off for $89.99 http://www.grizzly.com/products/8-Grinder-Sharpener/T10097
but then read a few posts and saw this 8 in slow speed grinder at woodcraft:
http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/2080939/29437/8in-Slow-Speed-Grinder.aspx
I planned on picking up the wolverine jig as well.

What do you think? I'm new to turning and sharpening and don't want to find out what I bought isn't what I really needed.
I gather from the posts I read that the Tormek knock off will give sharper tools but is not as versatile as a grinder..true or not? Will I even need a grinder?
Thanks for your help!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

randyrls

What do you think? I'm new to turning and sharpening and don't want to find out what I bought isn't what I really needed.
I gather from the posts I read that the Tormek knock off will give sharper tools but is not as versatile as a grinder..true or not? Will I even need a grinder?

James; The short answer is that yes; a grinder is handy. The wolverine jig is a good one.
Tip: Take an adhesive backed stick ruler and put a piece of it on the side of the bar opposite the clamp mechanism. When you sharpen a tool, mark the reading from the ruler on the shank of the tool. You will always be able to rest the tool to the same position.

Also take a look at this video by Captn Eddie Castelin.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hw5eeWvubBw

Captn Eddie has many videos and all are good to watch. He is of the "make it yourself" camp.

JimB

I have the same grinder with the Wolverine jigs and am very happy with it. You will not find a better price on a slow speed grinder with those wheels. I've never used a Tormek style system so I can't do any comparisons for you.

nativewooder