What causes skew chatter?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

leehljp

Member Liaison
I am getting small a amount of chatter with the skew on my pen lathe. What would be the causes of this? The harder the wood the more it does. The gouge cuts smooth as butter.
Very light touch eliminates it but it is very slow go at this rate. It is not too bad that cannot be sanded out, but it just doesn't seem to me that any chatter is normal, but then I am new to this side of woodworking.

The skew is very sharp (I have some fine Japanese water stones.)
The mandrel is tight and centered. Finger tight, hand tight, and even lightly using pliers to tighten the blanks, same result.
Live center dead on, spring loaded pushed in about 1/2 inch.
(Had a regular center but it did the same.)
Chatter occurs on the blank of the tail stock end only.

I am using a Taig pen turning lathe. (It was all I could get in my suitcase to bring back from the States.)

I checked the archives and only two mentions of chatter and one had to do with talking!

Your input is appreciated.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

crash

i had chatter when i did not tighten the tail stock enough against the mandrel.. try a little more pressure on the mandrel.. it should eliminate your chatter..

M

Mudder

Originally posted by leehljp
<br />I am getting small a amount of chatter with the skew on my pen lathe. What would be the causes of this? The harder the wood the more it does. The gouge cuts smooth as butter.
Very light touch eliminates it but it is very slow go at this rate. It is not too bad that cannot be sanded out, but it just doesn't seem to me that any chatter is normal, but then I am new to this side of woodworking.

The skew is very sharp (I have some fine Japanese water stones.)
The mandrel is tight and centered. Finger tight, hand tight, and even lightly using pliers to tighten the blanks, same result.
Live center dead on, spring loaded pushed in about ? inch.