What bushings do I get?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Chris88

Hello I am new to pen turing and I am trying to get every thing together before I start trying to turn pens. My lathe came the other day and I have to go and pick it up. I ordered most of the tools and things I will need. But I have not order any pen kits. I would like to find out what bushings and drill bits to get. I am trying to have a variety of bushing and bits on hand.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mickr

you are going about it backwards..decide on the kit you want..then get the bushings & drill bits that kit rquires

sefali

Mickr's right, kits first. do yourself a favor, and don't start off with slimlines. Go with the polaris/atlas, or one of the sierras. They are relatively cheap, and the large single barrel is much easier to work with than the slimlines.

If you haven't already, read up on between center, or mandreless, turning. I so wish I had started off mandreless, with single barrel pens - would have saved so many headaches.

GouletPens

Echoing mickr here....the type of bushings will be different for every style of pen....you need to get the bushings to match the pen kits. You're on the right track though by finding info from IAP before turning....man I wish I'd found IAP right off the bat...would have saved me a lot of hassle!

cnirenberg

Chris,
Brian is absolutely correct. There is a wealth of information here and many who are willing to share it. Do yourself a favor and learn from our headaches.

JimB

Also, if you haven't done any turning before I suggest just mounting some scrap wood on the lathe and practice making square wood round first.

markgum

yes What Jim said. When I started I picked up a bunch of 2x2 from Home Depot and made round sticks from square sticks for a month then got a pen kit and the bushings and the bits, now a year later, I'm up to my neck in bits, bushings and still feel I don't have enought. :biggrin:

GouletPens