What is the best pen mandrel I am new at this.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sumterdad

I have gotten the itch for turning wood thanks to a customer of mine. And I have made two bowls on his lathe, so I bought a uses sears lathe just to get started and it is a mt 1 which brand of mandrel should I get. I really would like to start turning some pens. Thanks for the help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PenMan1

IMHO, the "best" pen mandrels are the adjustable ones. You can make those exactly the length you need, thus minimizing "mandrel whip" which contributes to out of concentric pen barrels.

Additionally, when you "out grow" the mandrel configuration, replacement "rods" are available cheap ( $6-$7) so that you can continue to do closed end pens without buying or making a load of other "crap".

Also, most rookies tend to overtighten fixed-length mandrels,
causing a bowed mandrel. It is very difficult to overtighten and bend an adjustable.

Lastly, the last time I checked the priTce difference between a fixed length and adjustable mandrel was less than the price of a replacement mandrel shaft.

Last edited:

randyrls

I have gotten the itch for turning wood thanks to a customer of mine. And I have made two bowls on his lathe, so I bought a uses sears lathe just to get started and it is a mt 1 which brand of mandrel should I get. I really would like to start turning some pens. Thanks for the help

Chris; Any of the pen mandrels will work well. The most important part is the process. Use the same set procedure every time and you will have fewer troubles.

The comment to get an adjustable mandrel is a good one.

There are basically three options.

PSI and resellers
Woodcraft, Craft Supplies etc
"B" Size. The "B" size mandrel has a larger diameter and is stiffer for larger pens. "B" size bushings will not fit an "A" standard sized mandrel!