What the best pen kits??

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

allongo

HEY GUYS, I'VE BEEN TURNING FOR A FEW YEARS AND HAVE JUST DISCOVERED TURNING PENS. MADE ABOUT TWENTY OR SO. WHAT IS THE BEST BRAND TO USE , QUALITY WISE. I HATE TO PUT A 4 OR 5 DOLLAR KIT IN EXPENSIVE WOOD OUR ACRYLIC BLANK.ALSO WHAT IS THE BEST PLACE TO BUY THEM. i USUALLY BUY FROM PACKARDS, BUT IV,E SEEN BETTER QUALITY AND CHEAPER KITS ON A FEW OTHER SITES. aLSO WHT'A A GOOD SOURCE FOR ACRYLIC BLANKS. i THINK i'M GETTING ANOTHER ADDICTION. ALSO DOES ACRYLIC TURN BETTER BETWEEN CENTERS THAN ON A MANDRIL? ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED, AL

WWW.ALLONGO.COM

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rmartin

Welcome to the board!

There are 3 main suppliers and a few independants.

Penn State
Craft Supplies USA
Berea Hardwoods

There are many resellers and you will find some of the best deals from members of the IAP.

Everything turns better between centers

bobjackson

Passed Away Mar 5, 2020
In Memoriam
Welcome from Ohio. Beartooth Woods and Arizona Silhouette are both great, fast, honest and helpful. The sierra comes in many plattings and styles. It is quick to make and popular with the people in Ohio

C. Scott

Al,

You'll get several opinions. I have bought kits from AZ Silhouette, CUSA, Berea and Penn State. I really like the quality of the CUSA pens as I think that they are very consistent. That being said, Bill Baumbeck of AZ S. is a great guy and sells high quality kits. I don't buy near as many kits as a lot of the other members. Penn State has a couple of kits that no one else has that I like. I do agree with you though, it's a shame to use a cheapo kit on a really nice blank and I confess I'm guilty (but I haven't done it in a long time). Platnium, Tn Gold, and Blk Tn are really good platings and should be used on the best blanks IMHO. However, chrome holds up really well too.