wet wood from woodcraft

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rdunn12

Today I was in Woodcraft and ran across a 3x3x18 inch piece of claro walnut and a 1x1x18 inch piece of black and white stripped ebony.I got them and brought them home sliced em open only to find they are extremely wet.I dont have a moisture meter but dont need it when I can see the moisture after cutting.The wood was wax sealed.Shouldnt they tell people the wood may be wet!This is 35.00 worth of what I consider to be unuseable wood.Granted it will be useable once it has dried but how much will I lose to cracking now that I have cut it?So the question is do I go ahead and cut it into pen blanks and hope for the best or what?I guess I could microwave it.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Most of WoodCraft's wood is wax sealed. While I am NOT a wood expert, I don't think you do any damage by cutting it - just find the right way to dry it properly (someone here will tell you). May involve microwaving or just resealing with wax and waiting.

Wait for the experts - they will emerge!!!

Fred

You need to immediately cut it slightly over sized and use Steve Russells' method of boiling green woods. Go here to learn the simple procedure...

http://www.woodturningvideosplus.com/boiling-green-wood.html

I HIGHLY recommend you do this outside as there is a lot of steam generated and it often is not something one would want to do inside. I use this method all the time on my larger bowl blanks and so far - knocking on my wooden head - I have had fantastic results and not lost anything to speak of.

BE SURE to follow his direction exactly. And by a boil he means a good strong rolling boil for the entire time of the process. I have found that drying in a closed cardboard box is very good.