Weeping willow burl?'s

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bedangerous

IMG_3863.JPG

IMG_3859.JPGIMG_3852.JPG

During a storm the other night two large Weeping Willow trees probably at least 75 years old split down the road from me. I was lucky to trade some pens to the tree people for 3 burls today. One burl is at least 25 lbs. I sealed them and was wondering as I am new to this how long it will take for me to cut some blanks from them. Also will they need to be stabilized.

What are people's experiences working with this wood.

Thanks,
Mitch

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

robutacion

View attachment 163383

View attachment 163384View attachment 163385

During a storm the other night two large Weeping Willow trees probably at least 75 years old split down the road from me. I was lucky to trade some pens to the tree people for 3 burls today. One burl is at least 25 lbs. I sealed them and was wondering as I am new to this how long it will take for me to cut some blanks from them. Also will they need to be stabilized.

What are people's experiences working with this wood.

Thanks,
Mitch

G'day Mitch

From the pics, the wood/burl looks pretty old and I'm wondering if the trees were dead or still alive when they fell..?

I would suggest you cut it into small chunks and or blanks types you would want to use, cut them slight oversized if the wood is still green, that will dry the wood faster if you have a moisture meter make a reading and let us know if not, let us know about the wood condition dry/green...!

When dry/free of moisture, that wood will stabilise very well and produce magnificent blanks, you can use some dyes with the CJ (cactus juice) or clear, either would be fine.

Cheers
George

bedangerous

The trees were very alive just split in high winds. At the edge of a parking lot and took out a light so the owners did not want to risk the liability of an accident at their store. The trees were green and leafed out.
Thanks,
Mitch