Wall Street 2 Pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Brentda1

Quick question from a semi-newbie. I have been turning for about 3 years and doing pens for about 2 years....just simple slimlines. This past weekend stepped up to doing some Wall Street II from Woodcraft. Have drilled the blanks with the recommended bit (27/64) but the fit of the tube in the blanks seems a little sloppy. I drilled a piece of 2x4 taking care to make sure the piece was stable. It is still sloppy. Did I get a bad bit or is the nature of the beast with these kits.

I turned one pen after putting the tube in the blank with epoxy and it seemed to do well.

Thanks for the comments.

Brent

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dcannon

I'm a newbie too, so take this for what it's worth...I had the same problems with several of my kits. I downsized a couple of bits that seemed sloppy such as my 10mm bit that I ended up using a 3/8" bit for. Eventually I started drilling on my lathe instead of my cheap drill press and found that a lot of the problem was with the press letting the bit wander a little too much. On the lathe, it was better right out of the gate, but not perfect. eventually I learned to just take it very slowly, and to turn the lathe off each time I reinsert the bit so I don't catch the edges in case it's not perfectly aligned. Maybe you could at least try that on the press if you don't want to jump to the lathe.

Or yes, I suppose it could very easily be a bad bit too.

Again, I'm still in the learning phase, so take this all with a grain of salt, it just sounded very similar to what I was experiencing. Unfortunately, I've not turned the Wall Street, or anything with the 27/64" bit, so I can't give any advice on that specifically.

Dan

Dave Turner

When you measure your 27/64ths drill bit with your calipers, is it measuring 0.4219 ? What does the outside of your WSII tube measure?

Smitty37

Passed Away Mar 29, 2018
In Memoriam
change size