Visible glue with acrylic blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

chris99210

I'm a newbie turning pens and have run into a problem with a recent acrylic blank. The acrylic has a very translucent gold background with swirls of other colors in it. I used the standard brass tube since I knew you'd be able to see it through the turned blank, and I didn't think any other color would blend in better. Now that I've turned it to the final dimension and finished it I can see glue splotches along the tube (or they may be glue voids, it's hard to tell). If I didn't have the visible "spots" of glue it would be OK as being able to see the brass tube through the gold acrylic isn't objectionable. I thought I had spread the CA very thoroughly over the tube and was sure to twist it back and forth as I inserted it into the blank. I used accelerator when it was in place. Am I seeing splotches because I didn't get even coverage of the CA along the tube, or did I drill the hole a bit too large and have too much gap between the tube and the blank in places? Or is this typical for translucent acrylics? :confused: I used medium CA. My wife likes several of these acrylic blanks and wants me to make more, but I'm not happy with the way it turned out and this pen is headed for the junk drawer. :frown: Any advice is appreciated.
Thanks,
Chris

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gwilki

Chris: Colour the inside of the blank before gluing in the tube. If you do this, use epoxy to glue the tube, as CA removes many of the paints that you can use to colour the blank.

cowchaser

Get some 30 minute Epoxy (Mannie sells some) and some model paint the color you want it to be. Mix together and spread inside your drilled blank or on your tube. No more glue spots.

Or you can just paint the inside of the blank and won't see the glue either. That's what I do anyways.

GouletPens