USMC PurpleHeart Pen for my Dad

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Neededwill

So my dad's birthday is coming up so I decided to venture into a new area for me of water-slide decals. Also this is my 3rd pen using the CA finish. Well pen turning is new to me first of all, just started in the beginning of Feb 2013 after getting a lathe and accessories.

My dad did 2 tours in Viet Nam from 1968 thru 1972 and was wounded and received a Purple Heart for his efforts when he was wounded. So I thought that is would be awesome to create a display pen and box to go along with his shadow box that he created for all his medals and from the USMC.

This is my first attempt but it came out nice I believe. It is purple heart wood with a USMC logo decal on the mid section. Instead of putting a center band on the pen I decided to create a look of one with a USMC logo decal.

I am purchasing a case to show the pen off and will be putting a decal with Viet Nam and the dates of each tour on the sides of the case.

So let me know what yall think, I know the decal is hard to see so I might have to change to a lighter wood but I wanted to make a statement of the Purple Heart.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rodnall

I'm sure he will be proud of it. Like has been said before, use a white background to show the pen better.

ironman123

That pen will be treasured by your Father. It represents personal things to him as well as your love and appreciation for his commitment and a great change in our nation.

Your pen is very nice looking in my book.

Ray

gbpens

You've done him proud. You might consider finding a Vietnam campaign ribbon for the box. I recall it was yellow and red.

Neededwill

Thanks all for the support and help. Yes I have the ribbon for the campaign, I will print out a couple types and see what looks best and fits with the look.

t001xa22