universal mandrell

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

george

Hello !

Since Im quite new at turning pens ( so far I made only dip pen holders ), Im in process of purhcasing mandrell. Since I have qiute old lathe ( no morse taper ) I think I will hold mandrell in Supernova chuck. The shop where I bought chuck has special carrier made by Supernova, so moser taper mandrell can be hold in chuck.
The reason for my question is this : they sell universal madrell with tappered bushings for turning from 7.5 - 12 mm diam. tubes.
Since you (probably all) know more than me regarding madrells please advice if I should buy this universal madrell or not. Are madrells made only for single diameter better ?

I read one forum topic regarding mandrells but it didnt help a lot. Unfortunatly this UK shop dont sell other types of madrells, but I would prefer to purchase by this shop since I did it before and they re really OK.

Thanks a lot for possible answer. BR,

200612018529_P_Penmandrel.jpg

George

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tipusnr

Tapered bushings? That's a new one on me!! One problem is that slimline pens are 7 mm (OD)tubes that fit on a 1/4" mandrill...doesn't sound like yours goes small enough. I would also think that centering the blanks on the taper might be a challenge.

Many older lathes don't accept a morse taper so many of the turners here use various chucks to hold a standard mandrill. Check through the archive and you should find several ideas.

gerryr