Which type of European do you turn?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

DaveM

I have progressed through Slimlines, American Flat top Double Twists, Sierras, and 7mm European pens. Now, I am planning on adding Cigars, and some fountain pens to my rep. I was wondering if I should change to a regular European, (10mm drill bit, and the DT mechanism from Berea) to replace the 7mm. Are there any external differences in the pens. (Larger dimensions, or different lengths?)

I have just sold several pens, and a few slimline Pen and Pencil sets, and the Europeans have been a popular shape. I am fairly new to pens, but I have been turning Game calls, turkey calls, strikers, fishing lures, lace bobbins, doorknobs, guitar knobs, and other stuff for several years now. I have another batch of shows lined up for the summer and holiday seasons, and I was interesting in focusing on pens for them.

Thanks,
Dave

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rudy Vey

I always liked the Berea 8 mm double-twist European, and I made quite a number of them. It is a pen that is a tad more heavier and rigid than the 7 mm version, and I like the twist mechanism better. All this combined with the use of a parker-style refill that allows for the use of gel refills. Not sure if there are cross-style gels, but my customers liked the gel well over the normal refill.

alamocdc

I prefer the 8mm Euro as well. PSI makes an 8mm version as well, called the Premium Designer. I typically prefer a single twist like the PSI, but I like turning the Berea 8mm Euro better. Both require a tenon to be cut, but the Berea is more straight forward.

I pretty much stick to the 7mm Europeans.. mostly because I can do them quickly and I like the cross refils.. they sell well. I have some of the 8mm and have had a few customers state a preference for the Parker style refills. Never done a Berea kit, but have looked at the catalogs lots of times.