Tycoon troubles

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

law_kid

I am having the worst luck with the PSI "tycoon" kits in terms of destroying blanks. I have blown out or cracked a number of synthetic blanks, including Lava Brights (plastic) and acrylester blanks. (I've never cracked a synthetic blank while on the lathe at any other time, and I am not really sure how it even happens; I haven't had blowouts like this since I was a rookie acrylic turner.) I've lost 8 of the last 10 blanks I've tried on this pen, and I am starting to wonder if the kit itself just doesn't allow for enough "meat" to be left on the tube when the blank is turned down to final size.

I have been having great luck with other fountain pen kits, but wanted to turn a few more economical ones, and Tycoon seemed like a good choice. However, at this point, the money I'm losing in blanks is thwarting my economical aspirations.

Has anyone else ever had particular challenges with this kit?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
. . . and I am starting to wonder if the kit itself just doesn't allow for enough "meat" to be left on the tube when the blank is turned down to final size.

Has anyone else ever had particular challenges with this kit?

"enough meat" suggests that that the blank is not thick enough, or the tool is not sharp enough, or the method requires some changes. It is not the kit per se. It could be the adhesive that you use to glue the tube to the blanks.

There have been numerous discussions here over the past couple of years on the different acrylic/synthetic (not wood) brittleness and forgiveness or non-forgiveness of different materials. The more brittle, the more delicate need of turning or change in methodology. CA gluing does not always grip totally and often leaves spots not totally filled. Delicate blanks will 'explode" quickly and easily from lack of proper adhesion.