Turning Tools

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

acmaclaren

Angi the Maker
I'm new to pen turning. I have 2 different Festool woodcarving sets. Could these be used to make pens? If not, please suggest a good beginner's set. I'm of the school that if you buy cheap, then you buy twice. So price isn't too much of a concern. I'd like to get a set that comes pre-sharpened as I have heard some tools have to be sharpened when you get them home. Any suggestions will be helpful. Thanks.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

stonepecker

First set of turning tools? Then go and get a 'cheap' set. Use them.....sharpen them.....learn from them.

THEN, go and spend the money on a better set. You will have made all the mistakes with the first set and then second will last longer.

My opinion for what it is worth. I still prefer to 'find' tools at auctions or even e-bay, and clean and resharpen them. Usually if you look long enough and if someone doesn't really 'know' what they have.........you can make a good buy.

plantman

I'm new to pen turning. I have 2 different Festool woodcarving sets. Could these be used to make pens? If not, please suggest a good beginner's set. I'm of the school that if you buy cheap, then you buy twice. So price isn't too much of a concern. I'd like to get a set that comes pre-sharpened as I have heard some tools have to be sharpened when you get them home. Any suggestions will be helpful. Thanks.