Turning Pens on Drill Press

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rink

Hi. I'm new to the forum, and very impressed by the pens I see here. Nothing short of spectacular in fact. I've always had a thing for pens. Anyway, I'm an experienced woodworker, but have no lathe and have yet to experience my first turning project. I'm considering trying out pen-making using my drill press with the PKM-DL and DPLATHE fixtures from PSI. Any comments on that approach as a way to affordably step into pen making? I hope to have a lathe at some point, but not ready for the cash outlay yet. Also how about carbide chisels instead of HSS? Thanks for any insight.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I have never tried it but you would need your drill press to have absolutely no wobble because most kits are turned very thin on the nib end. If you have any wobble the pen would be out of round and a good chance you would see the brass tube on one side at least. I know my drill press would not be accurate enough for pens.

turncrazy43

Welcome Rink, lots of great information here. As suggested above, your drill press would have to be totally wobble free. If it is not then the cost of the drill press attachment would be wasted or you would have to buy a better one. The most cost effective way may be to save and purchase an entry level mini such as a Rikon via Woodcraft. They are generally on sale in the $350 range.

RickLong

Welcome Rink, lots of great information here. As suggested above, your drill press would have to be totally wobble free. If it is not then the cost of the drill press attachment would be wasted or you would have to buy a better one. The most cost effective way may be to save and purchase an entry level mini such as a Rikon via Woodcraft. They are generally on sale in the $350 range.