Turning my first acrylic pen - question?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JBeck

Hi all, this is my first post since I'm a new member. I'm new to pen turning and I've turned maybe 15 to 20 wooden pens of varying styles. I'm turning my first acrylic pen. I was wondering when finishing what grit sandpaper should I start out with. With wood I start out with 150 and progress to 12,000 MM. Can I start out the same way with acrylic. I know you have to use less pressure while sanding so that you don't melt the plastic. Any other advise would be appreciated. Thanks.

John

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
First,

How is the pen? Did you do a final pass with a skew or with a gouge?

IF it looks pretty good, you can start with 320 grit. DON"T use anything under 100 grit or you may get scratches that are too deep.

WHICH acrylic is it? Some are softer than others, sandpaper will dig.

Start there, we can always go into depth later.

kirkfranks

I try to avoid sanding at 150 (for wood too) by trying to make the last couple passes with the skew or gouge very light so the surface is smoother. Starting at 220 or 320 is better if you can. The 150 just has more chance of leaving a deep scratch that wont get noticed till later.

As noted less pressure to avoid heat. Also can slow down the spindle speed for the same reason. I also will use wet/dry sandpaper (wet) as this makes the sanding go better. Keep the paper wet enough that it makes a slurry. If you get any actual dust then it is too dry.

Was typing longer than Ed:)

jkeithrussell

Sand it wet and sand lengthwise after each grit. You never want to use too much pressure when you are sanding -- whether it is wood or acrylic. Wood burns, acrylic melts. Use a good strong light to check for stray sanding marks before you stop.

JBeck