Turning M3

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fibonacci

I am fairly new to turning, but I really like the look of the M3 blanks.

I have a couple questions that I didn't see addressed elsewhere.

How much "heft" do these have? I have read the hype and marketing for them, but given my materials experience with other similar products, I am concerned that they might be light and/or feel cheap.

How tough are these to turn? Do they have a tendancy to split out? Do they wreak havok on your tools? Do they require any special handling?

Will I have issues using a wood lathe with them?

I am looking real hard at the sale randbcrafts is having on them.

Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

IPD_Mrs

These have a good weight to them. They are not light weight by any means. It is a bit of a chore to turn them with a skew, but it is quite doable. It does require frequent sharpening. Now if you have a Wood Chuck Pen Pro with the carbide inserts then it is an easy turn. Either way they will turn just fine on a wood lathe. Personally I have been quite happy with these and have never had an issue with them.

PenMan1

Three Things:

1. M3 makes BEATIFUL pens.
2. WOODCHUCK Pen Pro (nuff said)
3. When M3 starte, if you blew up a blank, they would replace it. I doubt they do that anymore......and wear a face shield.

Well 4 things...dipping the Woodchuck in WD40 or cold water makes for a smoother and quicker cut.

Fibonacci

Three Things:

1. M3 makes BEATIFUL pens.
2. WOODCHUCK Pen Pro (nuff said)
3. When M3 starte, if you blew up a blank, they would replace it. I doubt they do that anymore......and wear a face shield.

Well 4 things...dipping the Woodchuck in WD40 or cold water makes for a smoother and quicker cut.

A face shield is a given.

I woud love to pick up a woodchuck pen pro, but as recently as I got the lathe, I am not going to be able to buy one of those until I start selling some stuffs.

turff49