Turning Help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jhudson1977

I am wondering if anyone has any tips to help a beginning wood turner with what is probably a simple fix. I notice that when I am turning a pen, if I try to make a pen straight - from one bushing to another - I invariably end up turning the middle of the pen too narrow. In other words, the pen is thicker on the ends than in the middle.

I know that practice makes perfect but I am going for the most consistent results that can be achieved while still maintaining that hand-made aspect to my pens. Any jigs or methods people use to help with this?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jkeithrussell

A flat piece of hard wood (maple), maybe 3" wide, with a piece of sandpaper glued to it should work.

Hillbilly

Im also new at pen turning. My method is when I get down to about 3/16 before the bushing I swap to my skew and start at one end of the blank and make even passes trying not to stop. For me this makes a flat surface and its alot easier to sand.

Try using a sanding block this will make a flat, even surface.

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam
When I first started turning, I turned the ends first, then brought the middle down to level with the ends. It's worth a try.

jhudson1977

I knew there would be a simple solution out there! Making a sanding block from bushing to bushing would be perfect.

Thanks a bunch!

Rangertrek

Practice! Practice! Practice!
Work with the tools and your technique. A good skew and tool work will eliminate a lot of sand paper work.:)

I had the same problem when I started. Also, as mentioned above, work the ends first, and bring the middle down.

marcruby