Turning Between Centers - Why?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Mordi

I am new to pen turning and reading all the posts about TBC and trying to understand what the advantages are and why I should consider TBC?

I have seen some posts that refer to "out of round" conditions from conventional bushings - but I have not really noticed this in my pens so far. I guess I don't really know what I should be looking for or perhaps not looking closely enough? :eek:. Since I have been focusing on single barrel (Wall Street II) styles, I don't really see much of a need?

Is there a writeup or tutorial on this? I like to understand this and try it if it will improve the end product.

Thanks for the help,
Mordi

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
The out of round issue is very real. I have a set of bushings for the Tycoon that are way out of round, but turning between centers will not fix the out of round issues. I now only turn between centers and now replace my bushings as needed with JonnyCNC's bushings. A mandrel works for starting out but I find that I do get more control and less flexing between centers. I resisted switching but now wish I had done it much sooner. There are lots of turners that don't go between centers too. I hope this helps.

lyonsacc

Try it, you'll like it - to me it feels like I can control the final shape and contour so much better, especially near the ends. I use a mandrel and bushings to get close to the final size than switch to TBC. My "fit" seems to be so much better.

"I'm not gonna try it, you try it"
"No way, I'm not gonna try it"
"Hey, let's get Mikey to try it, he hates everything!"
"He likes it! Hey Mikey!"
(Life cereal commercial from the early 70's)

76winger

I've not yet switch to turning between centers and seem to be one of those that do OK without making the switch.