Turning Between Centers

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jac42779

I'm new to pen turning and about to attempt turning between centers. Was wandering do you just use the bushings that come with each pen kit to turn between centers or is there special bushings that you use?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jim Smith

JohnnyCNC sells steel bushings with 60 degree angles on the ends which are much superior, but you can get by with the standard bushings just fine.

Jim Smith

JBCustomPens

You can also drill out the end of your bushings with a 60 degree center drill. You have to be careful though. JohnnyCNC offers top notch products, and I enthusiastically recommend him and his bushings.:)

KenV

My answer in a word is Yes

I turned a couple dozen pens in Feb with a dead center in the headstock and live center in the tailstock and regular bushings. No mandrel anywhere.

I also turned a few with custom bushings manufactured for turning between the centers, They have a bit longer stub into the tubes and are machined to match the 60 degree angle of the dead center and live center.

With a few notable exceptions where both pieces of a two piece pen need to be together, I find it a more enjoyable way to turn

lwalden