Turning between centers

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Harris

I am relatively new to pen turning but turn between centers on my spindle work. Having read about some problems with using mandrels I'd be happy to turn pens between centers. However, does this mean you turn 1 piece and then cut and drill afterwards? Could someone please enlighten me on the process?

Harris

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Wheaties

It means cutting and drilling as normal, placing the bushings on each end after squaring the ends (slimline bushings will not work- you will have to buy specially made ones), then placing it between centers- both 60 degree (one dead center, one live center). For a two barrel pen, this means one barrel at a time.

You can find everything you need at penturnersproducts.com. (JonnyCNC here on the forum)

Chief Hill

Maybe someone can post a pic? Sorry I don't do it but it may help with a visual as to how it's done...

BigguyZ

You can also turn without any bushings at all. This is what I do. So, you have the blank drilled, and squared up mounted between the dead center on the headstock and the live center on the tailstock. Make sure to not use too much pressure, but then you can turn any style pen no matter what.

To make sure you're at the right diameter, use a caliper. I use the same one that CUSA has on sale for $12 on their front page. It's plastic, so you don't have to worry about scratching the fittings (like you would with metal jaws). Just measure the end of each piece, and use that measurement to know where you want to be with your blank.

Simple. Quick (don't have to worry about using the wrong bushings). And Cheap (don't have to buy bushings).

Just make sure you use an xacto knife or something to thouroughly clean the inside of the brass tubes. and again, don't use too much pressure or you're crack the material.

Harris