Turning Acrylics #@!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gwlundgren

I had turned a few and they turned out fine. Now I seem to run into more troubles.

Perhaps I'm getting too aggressive. Wrong angles with my lathe chisel, or . . ?

For now I'm a hobbyist. Not into selling my work yet.

I sharpen my chisels each time. Have the Worksharp 3000 with the Tormek adapters to get the right angles.

I use the roughing gouge a lot. Like a 3/4 in? That's what I see in videos a lot. Somehow that seems too big once the blank is round. Should I be stepping down to a smaller chisel? What type of chisel?

I have a seemingly complete set, 8 chisels, PSI's Set of 8 Benjamins Best HSS Lathe Chisel Set Item #LCHSS8.

Also have a smaller set of 8. The Woodcraft WoodRiver HSS "Mini" Turning Tool Set 5 piece #143718.

Any tips or advice appreciated.

Thx, Gary

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

eranox

My two best pieces of advice are turn at high speeds, and knock the corners of the blank off with coarse sandpaper before getting chisels involved.

Acrylic is a finicky material. I use a round-nose scraper to work mine, and I make light passes and move very slowly to start. This causes the acrylic and the tool to warm up, and this makes the acrylic cut much more easily and chip much less. Once you get to a cylinder, things become easier, and you should have more or less one long continuous shaving coming off the blank. I have actually found that ultra-sharp tools are not a strict necessity (others will strongly disagree), but I do not recommend that you use a tool with a burr to cut your acrylic. The burr will agressively pull the tool into the material, and you will cut/chip far too much away in a very short time.