turning acrylic

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sbwertz

I'm a beginner and just turned my first acrylic pen. I was frustrated because every few seconds I had to stop and remove the long strings of plastic shavings that wrapped themselves around the blank and the mandrel. Is there a special technique to control these ribbons of plastic?

The pen turned out nice, though.

Sharon

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jedgerton

The only technique I can think of isn't really special, just use a dust collector but even then, the ribbons wrap up on everything.

One consolation, if you are getting long ribbons of plastic, you must be doing something right ;-). Far more times people get chip outs or just total blow ups.

Don't you just love the smell of acrylics being turned!

John

Jim Smith

I find that a 2 inch paint brush works well also. No need to stop the lathe, simple brush at the ribbons a bit and they come right off.

Jim Smith

sbwertz

The only technique I can think of isn't really special, just use a dust collector but even then, the ribbons wrap up on everything.

One consolation, if you are getting long ribbons of plastic, you must be doing something right ;-). Far more times people get chip outs or just total blow ups.

Don't you just love the smell of acrylics being turned!

John

I DO use a dust collector, and sometimes the ribbons get picked up and stream back into the hood, but most of the time they just make something that looks like my bait casting reel when I screwed up a cast!

Sharon

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
After about 500 pens that way, I'd say no.

Remember you don't get ribbons from sanding or buffing-so if there are any marks, they will be eliminated in future steps

steeler fan1

After about 500 pens that way, I'd say no.

Remember you don't get ribbons from sanding or buffing-so if there are any marks, they will be eliminated in future steps