Turning acrylic

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jamesomac

I am new to turning pens, and so far have used only wood. Some of the acrylics look great though, and I thouht I might give them a try. A couple of questions before I start. I know you have to use sharp tools, but do the tools degrade faster with acrylic than wood? Also, are there any instances where the brass tube would show through the acrylic.

Any help would be appreciated.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

plantman

Ed's videos are excellent and will show you how and why. In answer to your questions, No they will not dull your tools any faster than wood. Materials like the truestones however will. You won't know until after you turn the acrylic if you should have painted the tube or not, so if in dought, paint it or the tube first. The color you use will change the appearance of the blank also. There was a thread on this not to long ago. Help needed for thread !! Jim S

Last edited:

randyrls

I know you have to use sharp tools, but do the tools degrade faster with acrylic than wood?

James; Like wood, not all acrylics behave alike. Some are VERY HARD, others are softer. When turning you want ribbons to come off the tool. If you get hard little grit, and the surface looks pocked marked, change your technique.

Also, are there any instances where the brass tube would show through the acrylic.
Yes; Always paint the inside of the tube, not the brass tube, the inside of the blank. Use a spray can of a similar color, or white.

Finally, use a belt sander or small drum sander to knock off the corners of the blank.

jttheclockman

Very first post. Welcome to the site. I suggest you do some reading and Ed has pointed out some very nice videos. There is a library full of good info from Ed Davidson (AKA Yo YO Spin)