Turners Magic Question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

designer

I would like any input on Turners Magic from WoodWrite. Since I am a newbie, I don't know how long it has been on the market so please take that into consideration with these questions. Correct me, straighten me out or just throw in your 2 cents worth. All answers are welcome. At least I will learn.

I assume it is a slower process than CA?
Does it gloss up less or as much or better than CA (the high gloss version)?
Will it last as long as CA?
Does it affect the wood color any?

I know a couple of the questions are kinda Wide Open questions but since I am new, I am not sure how to phrase them.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

zig613

Q. I assume it is a slower process than CA?
Q.2 Does it gloss up less or as much or better than CA (the high gloss version)?
Q.3 Will it last as long as CA?
Q.3 Does it affect the wood color any?

A.1 It is quicker than CA.

A.2 The gloss version isn't as glossy as a good CA finish. But then again, I generally prefer a satin finish on my wood pens.

A.3 No, I found that it didn't last as long as a CA finish... but a lot better than other friction polish finishes.

A.3 No, I didn't that it changed the colour of any wood that I used it on.

Wade

zig613

Wade, it sounds like it is a middle of the road type of finish then. Not wax, but not CA. do I understand it correctly?

Yes, I found it not as durable as CA but much more durable than shellac based fricton polish (ShellWax, etc.). It is easy to apply and although I don't use it on pens any longer I still use it on some bottle stoppers.

Wade

corian king